The Right Brain Initiative


Committees + Volunteers

As Managing Partner, the Regional Arts & Culture Council Board provides fiscal and legal oversight of the following committees and task forces. Check out our Get Involved page to see how you can help.

Governing Committee, Fiscal Year 2015-16

  • Max Miller, Co-chair; Tonkon Torp LLP
  • Carol R. Smith, Co-chair; Retired Educator
  • Verlea Briggs, Manager of Customer Technical Services, Portland General Electric
  • Tom Hughes, Senior Policy Advisor, Tonkon Torp Policy Group LLC
  • Marvin Kaiser, CEO, Mary’s Woods
  • Steve Larson, Assistant Superintendent, Hillsboro School District
  • Joy Leising, Alder Program Manager, I Have A Dream Foundation
  • Bruce Livingston, Executive Director, PlayWrite, Inc.
  • Sarah Prevost, Office Operations Manager, Imagine Energy; Parent
  • Julie Rierson, Assistant Director of Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment, Portland Public Schools
  • Jan Robertson, Chief Financial Officer, Norris, Beggs & Simpson; RACC Board
  • Jim Schlachter, Superintendent, Gresham-Barlow School District
  • Judy Shiprack, Commissioner, Multnomah County
  • Dayle Spitzer, Assistant Superintendent, Office for School Performance, Hillsboro School District

Operating Committee, Fiscal Year 2015-16

  • Carol R. Smith, Co-chair; Retired Educator
  • Joel Stuart, Co-chair; Associate Director of Elementary Programs, K-12, North Clackamas School District
  • Kristin Brayson, Arts TOSA, Portland Public Schools
  • Nikki Flinn, Acts of Wonder; Teaching Artist, The Right Brain Initiative
  • Michelle Fujii, Co-director at Taiko dance company, UNIT SOUZOU
  • Subashini Ganesan, Studio Director, Zoomtopia
  • Debbie Johnson, Director of Teaching and Learning, Oregon Trail School District
  • Teresa Ketelsen, Director of Curriculum & Instruction, Gresham-Barlow School District
  • Lori Luna, Principal, Corbett School District
  • Molly Siebert, Principal at Hillsboro School District
  • Aaron Nigel Smith, Teaching Artist, The Right Brain Initiative and Young Audiences
  • Arcema Tovar, Coordinator of Elementary Teaching & Learning, Hillsboro School District

Development Committee, Fiscal Year 2015-16

  • Marina Barcelo; Portland State University School of Social Work
  • Kimberly Brecko, President, EcoDigital Media
  • Verlea Briggs, Chair; Portland General Electric
  • Matthew Chase, Corporate and Foundation Relations Officer, Portland Community College
  • Marvin Kaiser, CEO, Mary’s Woods
  • Max Miller, Tonkon Torp LLP; RACC Board
  • Don Wood, Principal, Catawba Business Consulting

Advocacy Committee, Fiscal Year 2015-16

Communications Task Force

  • Chris Celauro, Chair; Communications Consultant
  • Natalie Garyet, Managing Director, Tavern Books
  • Barry Johnson, Executive Editor, Oregon Arts Watch
  • Davis Priestley, Independent Film and Video Producer
  • Karen Stein, Publicist, Portland State University Department of Architecture
  • Kristina Weischadle, Global Travel Manager, WE Communications
  • Malindi Zimmer, Student Supervisor, Beaverton School District

Grassroots Fundraising Task Force

  • Jeremy Asay, Senior Manager, Development and Consulting, Gateway to College National Network
  • Morgan McFall Funes, Marketing Consultant
  • Katie Herro, Head Start Teacher, David Douglas School District
  • Shannon Hutchinson, Project Manager, Wieden+Kenney
  • Taylor Hom Johnson, Executive, Laundry Service
  • Ashley Klump, Teaching Artist, The Right Brain Initiative
  • Contessa Trujillo, Account Manager, DDI Benefits
  • Kailiegh Westermann, Graduate Student, Portland State University
  • Jasmine Westmoreland, Student, Portland State University
  • Ahmed Yusuf, Office Manager, Regional Arts & Culture Council

Resource Council, Fiscal Year 2015-16

  • Les Badden, Les Badden Creative Office
  • John Branam, Director of Programs, Grantmakers for Education
  • Tom Cirillo, Executive Director, Portland Baroque Orchestra
  • Linda Doyle, Wilson Area Arts Council
  • Tim DuRoche, Director of Programs, World Affairs Council
  • Peg Malloy, Executive Director, Portland Housing Center
  • Sean Morgan, Cultural Arts Program Manager, City of Hillsboro
  • Cheryl Snow, Executive Director, Clackamas County Arts Alliance
  • David Wynde, Deputy Chief Financial Officer, Portland Public Schools

Volunteers, Fiscal Year 2014-15

  • Cheryl Bristah*
  • Cecily Caceu*
  • Mark Caporeal
  • Michelle Carroll
  • Anna Crandall
  • Robb Cummings*
  • James Evans Harvey
  • Yolanda Evans
  • Paul Fardig*
  • Audrey Forbes
  • Rachel Greben
  • Kelley Groves*
  • Frank Hunt
  • Alfredo Lettenmaier
  • Nikhil Mahapatra
  • Grace McMicken
  • Mercy McNab
  • David Messenberg
  • Renee Middleton
  • Meera Ram Mohan
  • Sarah Moody
  • Stephanie Nguyen
  • Kevin Noonan*
  • Tim James
  • Rufus Paisley
  • Van Pham
  • Alicia Sheetz*
  • Monique Terner
  • Becky Thomas

* These volunteers gave 15+ hours of their time during the year.